Home » Literary Corner
Chimamanda Ngozi A. Awarded “Best of the Best’ of Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction
Category :- Literary Corner Author :- L J KINGAH 
Posted on November 12, 2020, 12:03 pm
(0 Rating)

Half of a Yellow Sun, a novel by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's has been voted the best book to have won the Women's Prize for Fiction. Chimamanda was chosen in a public vote from a list of all 25 winners.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie'

“We’re delighted to announce that Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie has been named the ‘Best of the Best’ of the winners of the second decade of the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction, as chosen by the Chairs of judges of the past ten years.” a statement from the website of the Women’s Prize for Fiction read in part.

She was winner of the prize in 2007. Besides the Nigerian-born author are Zadie Smith, the late Andrea Levy, Lionel Shriver, Rose Tremain and Maggie O'Farrell from the list of past winners. Formerly known as the Orange Prize and the Bailey's Prize, the one-off award marks the anniversary of the prize.

Half of a Yellow Sun

The statement added, “Half of a Yellow Sun, won the Women’s Prize for Fiction in 2007 and as ‘Best of the Best’ of the second decade of winners, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie will receive a special-edition Bessie statuette, cast in manganese bronze.”

The novel which explores the end of colonialism, ethnic allegiances, class, race and female empowerment was published in 2006. It is set in Nigeria during the Biafran War. It has received global approval since its publication. It was in 2013 in Newton that Half of a Yellow Sun was made into a film starring Chiwetel Ejiofor and Thandie.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

"I'm especially moved to be voted Winner of Winners because this is the prize that first brought a wide readership to my work - and has also introduced me to the work of many talented writers." Adichie said following the vote.

"Our aim has always been to promote and celebrate the classics of tomorrow today and to build a library of exceptional, diverse, outstanding international fiction written by women," Said author and playwright Kate Mosse, the founder and director of the UK-based prize as she congratulated Adachie.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

“Adichie follows in the footsteps of Andrea Levy who was named winner of ‘Best of the Best’ of the Prize’s first decade for her novel Small Island, which won the Women’s Prize in 2004.” Women’s Prize for Fiction indicated.

Rate this article   
Cameroon: President Biya Appoints Board of Directors for Newly Established SONAMINES
Cameroon National Mining Corporation – SONAMINES which was....
Page Views: 356
Cameroon: MINSANTE Hands Three Months Suspension to Corrupt Officials
Cameroon Ministry of Public Health, commonly known by its Fr....
Page Views: 210
Cameroon: HRW Commands Gov’t to Invalidate Law Criminalizing Consensual Same-sex Relations
The Human Rights Watch – HRW in its Wednesday April 14th, ....
Page Views: 204
Cameroon is “Blessed” with Visiting/Inspection Ministers
In Cameroon hearing that a minister is visiting a site or si....
Page Views: 243
Cameroonians Blast Human Rights Watch Report on Homosexuality
The 2021 report from the Human Rights Watch – HRW depictin....
Page Views: 122
___________________ ___________________